Oregon personal injury statute of limitations.
In Oregon the statute of limitations period for an adult bringing a personal injury lawsuit is normally two years from the date of the accident. ORS 12.110. (Personal injuries resulting in death must usually be commenced within 3 years of death. See ORS 30.020.
However, if your injury was caused by a government entity or government employee, in addition to filing suit within two years you must also file a Notice of Tort Claim within 180 days of the injury or accident (or one year if the injury resulted in death). ORS 30.275.
Don’t be intimidated by the phrase “Notice of Tort Claim.” This can easily be accomplished by a letter to the Department of Administrative Services for claims against the State or Oregon, or to the City Attorney or County Attorney for claims against counties or municipalities. The letter should detail the facts of the incident, details of the injuries and state that you intend to bring suit against the government entity for damages. You should send the letter by certified mail, return receipt requested, so that you can prove later that the government received your Notice within 180 days of the accident/injury.